Salads for Fun

One of the biggest challenges that I have had lately is finding variety in my meals. At first I believed that being a vegetarian, and now a vegan, simply meant that I can eat as much pasta with pesto that I could possibly get my hands on. This is true for about a couple of weeks until the sight of pasta makes you queasy. So then I moved on to salads. My previous concept of a salad was a house salad with thousand island on the side. With the help of my friends I have learned that, unlike popular belief, lettuce is not the only main ingredient for a salad. Let me give you a sneak peek into the wonderful world of salads. In case I haven’t raved about it before but I’m obsessed with anything ending in “berry”. I eat raspberries like they’re my last and first meal. I try to include them in my snacks as often as possible. So I figured I could include them in my salad to add some color. I amazed myself by including my favorites ingredients in one dish. After about 4 minutes I had in front of me a bowl of spinach, walnuts, fresh strawberries and raspberry vinaigrette. Easy as 1,2,3. I throw in blueberries and raspberries into the mix everyone now and then as well. After this I have moved on to try all kinds of salads to switch in between my pasta binges. So that’s what it’s all about. I could consider my vegan diet to be french fries chickpea saladsoy tacos at a fast foot joint but I value my body a little more than that. I aim to buy fresh and natural. I know salads usually rank high in the boring scale and extremely low in the satisfying scale but by thinking outside of our regular “house salad” concept you are bound to find a meal within any salad. My current obsession? Chickpea Chicken Salad. And no, it does not have chicken in it. It has all the protein I could possibly need and keeps my body happy. It’s finally Spring again so we should all venture into new things and new dishes!

2 thoughts on “Salads for Fun

Leave a Reply

